Center for Tire Research
An NSF Industry/University Cooperative Research Center



The Center Directors and Industry Advisory Board (IAB) have instituted Student Awards to recognize the exceptional work of students conducting CenTiRe funded projects.  The awards are based on IAB members’ voting during the project review presentations at the IAB meeting.  Ratings are made for technical content, presentation, and response to questions.

Prasad Raut and Nicole Swanson won the Superior Student Award for their project “Surface Engineering Approach for Enhanced Filler Dispersion and Hysteresis Reduction in Rubber Compounds”. 
Honorable Mention Student Awards went to Prashant Gautam and Kelly Gabor for their project “CFD of Air-related Noise Generation Mechanisms at the Tire/Road Interface” and to Chi Ma and Tuo Ji for their project “Characterization and Molecular Modeling of Filler-Polymer Interface.

Each winning project was awarded a plaque and a bag full of items contributed by our industry members.
Congratulations to the award winners, and thank-you to all of the students for your work.